Type to search

BTS Kpop

BTS ‘Skool Luv Affair’ Album Overview by One Stop K-Pop

Responsive Image

On February 12, 2014, BTS released a 10 track album titled Skool Luv Affair, containing the songs “Boy in Luv” and “Just One Day”.  This album peaked at rank 3 on the US Billboard charts, 1 on the Weekly South Korean Album charts, and peaked at 4 for the Monthly South Korean Album charts.

 The album starts off with “Intro: Skool Luv Affair”, an interesting track with a smooth slinky beat that fades into the more badass beat and rap this group is known for.  This song recounts different things relating to love, starting with first love, then true love, then ending with love’s vulnerability.  

Next, “Boy In Luv” jumped right out at you.  I instantly fell in love with this track, with the guitar and hardcore sound mixed with some sweet sections there was little I could dislike!  The video however, made me worry for a bit.  When they grabbed the girl to bring her to the room they were all in to confess, it was not nearly as ‘gentle’ as I was expecting, until the rose came out.  My mind was thinking “oh boy, where are we going with this…”.  I loved the bad boy look featured in parts of this, it was a nice touch and fit their image well.  

 “Where did you come from” definitely took the album in a different direction than the introductory songs.  While still about love, the song is far more of a mild piece and wasn’t nearly as memorable.  “Just One Day” incorporates R&B and rap and the entire song focuses on what they would do if their had a single day with their someone special.  

Skool Luv Affair

Losing the heavy love theme, “Tomorrow” picks up the pace and focuses on pursuing their dreams.  This track incorporates autotune more than the other songs on the album for the chorus, but it doesn’t take away from the appeal of the piece.  Like many of their other albums, this contains a “BTS Cypher Pt. 2: Tripytch”, which once agains shows off Rap Monsters skills at rapping in both English and Korean, as well as, J-Hope and Suga’s rapping skills.  “

Spine Breaker” or “Back Breaker” depending on the translation, focuses on culture constantly pushing for the latest and greatest to be bought and how it hinders their parents whose spines are breaking as they are trying to helm the expenses.

 “Jump” is a fun song with “Let’s Jump” repeated throughout the song.  It’s definitely an energy booster, as seen by the crowds reaction in the video above.  The last track on the album, “Outro: Propose” ends on a loving note towards the fans with a lovely R&B ballad.

Track List:

01. Intro: Skool Luv Affair
02. Boy In Luv (상남자)

03. Skit: Soulmate 
04. Where did you come from? (어디에서 왔는지)
05. Just One Day (하루만)
06. Tomorrow
07. BTS Cyphyer Pt. 2: Triptych
08. Spine(Back) Breaker (등골브레이커)
09. Jump
10. Outro: Propose

BTS Skool Luv Affair


You Might also Like

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!
%d bloggers like this: